The ECS Season 8 Finals are just weeks away, and the groups and schedule for the 4-day $500,000 event have been determined. Read on for the groups, format explainer, round one matchups, and event schedule.

The Europe representatives will be Astralis, NiP, AVANGAR and Fnatic, while Team Liquid, Sharks, Evil Geniuses and MIBR will be the face of North America. All teams will compete in two intense double-elimination groups with the top two teams from each group advancing to the playoffs. The playoffs will then see the top teams battle it out in a single-elimination Best of Three bracket with the strongest team taking home the trophy. 

All top four teams in the HLTV rankings, Astralis (1st), Evil Geniuses (2nd), Fnatic (3rd) and Team Liquid (4th), as well as NiP (8th) and AVANGAR (9th) will face off.

The Groups

Group AGroup B
AVANGARSharks Esports
Evil GeniusesAstralis
Team LiquidFnatic
NiPMIBR

How the groups were determined

AVANGAR and Sharks Esports Team were determined as A1 and B1 respectively as they were the first teams to qualify. They then took turns selecting the teams that should be in the opposite groups:

  • A1(AVANGAR) selects B2 (Astralis)
  • B1 (Sharks) selects A2 (Evil Geniuses)
  • B2 (Astralis) selects A3 (Team Liquid)
  • A2 (Evil Geniuses) selects B3 (Fnatic)
  • B3 (Fnatic) selects A4 (NiP)
  • B4 (MIBR) remaining
Nicolai “dev1ce” Reedtz at the ECS Season 7 Finals

ECS Season 8 Finals Schedule

TimeDay 1 (Nov 28)
9am CT, 3pm GMT, 4pm CETAVANGAR vs. EG (Gr A semi 1 – BO1)
10:30am CT, 4:30pm GMT, 5:30pm CETNiP vs. TL (Gr A semi 2 – BO1)
Noon CT, 6pm GMT, 7pm CETAstralis vs. Sharks (Gr B semi 1 – BO1)
1:30pm CT, 7:30pm GMT, 8:30pm CETFnatic vs. MIBR (Gr B semi 2 – BO1)
3pm CT, 9pm GMT, 10pm CETGr A UB Final – BO3
6pm CT, midnight GMT, 1am CETGr B UB Final – BO3

TimeDay 2 (Nov 29)
9am CT, 3pm GMT, 4pm CETGr A LB R1 – BO3
Noon CT, 6pm GMT, 7pm CETGr B LB R1 – BO3
3pm CT, 9pm GMT, 10pm CETGr A LB R2 – BO3
6pm CT, midnight GMT, 1am CETGr B LB R2 – BO3

TimeDay 3 (Nov 30)
Noon CT, 6pm GMT, 7pm CETPlayoffs Semi #1 – BO3
3pm CT, 9pm GMT, 10pm CETPlayoffs Semi #2 – BO3

TimeDay 4 (Dec 1)
Noon CT, 6pm GMT, 7pm CETShowmatch
3pm CT, 9pm GMT, 10pm CETGrand Final – BO3

We’ve also partnered with Caffeine to bring the return of ‘ECS After Dark,’ the exciting overtime show broadcast exclusively on the platform.

The ECS Finals are taking place live at the Esports Stadium Arlington in Texas on Nov 30th – Dec 1st. Tickets are available in Premium, GA, & Student price brackets. Visit our ticketing page for more information.

Stay tuned for more information on the ECS Finals through the @ECS Twitter